Dollfie head cap and stand

Got my second package from VolksUSA in today. The stand and head cap that I’d ordered came in! The Japanese really do love their packaging, as the stand came in quite the large box…

Big box for flat stand

I assembled the stand first, just so I’d have a way to work with Rin while trying to get the wig and cap on. Immediately, there was a bit of a problem. The cap itself seemed a bit too large for her head and didn’t look like it fit.

Looks warm, but too big?

If that were supposed to be the only thing she wore, it’d probably be fine. It looks pretty warm and would keep her ears safe from cold winter temperatures or give her nicer hydrodynamics if she were swimming. Sadly, neither of those scenarios fit, so I needed to figure out how to make it work. I tried a couple ideas, from folding it to rolling it up and tucking underneath, but nothing seemed to work. I finally gave in and shot an email to the VolksUSA folks with the picture attached and waited for a response.

Keen to keep trying, I started searching and found an entry on the VolksUSA blog. While it didn’t directly talk about how the head cap went on, it did inspire me to remove the top piece of her head and try the fit that way. That seemed to work and gave me a chance to peek inside Rin’s head…

IMG_3949

Once the top was put back on, I set to work in fitting the wig. it’s a bit tighter than before, but results came out well. Rin seems to be happy with it too!

IMG_3950

Before and after:

IMG_3945IMG_3952

Shortly after I’d finished, I received a reply from Volks. Seems the method I used isn’t the “right” way, and they included directions. I’ll include them here for other owners who may struggle with the same problem…

1&2: Place the headcap on the head. It will be slightly loose up at the top. Make sure that it rests behind the ears.

3: When you put on the wig, hold it down in the front with your thumb, and pull down on the back with your other hand, slipping it down over the headcap and head. After you do this the headcap will show a little bit outside the wig.

4: You can use you fingers to gently push the headcap inside the hairline. But be careful. Don’t push it up too high or the wig will touch her head. The line of the headcap, and wig cap should match up as perfectly as possible.

UPDATE: Just redid the cap as per the Volks instructions. Works great!

UPDATE2: Volks had asked that I remove the pictures. They didn’t say anything about the text though. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Dollfie head cap and stand

  1. hehe I actually felt that your idea works pretty well too, but I guess volk’s way will at least ensure that the headcap covers the part where the wig touches the head 🙂

    1. Asian Ed

      It’s an L size. I wonder if one could get away with an M, though since they’re the same price, it doesn’t really matter as much…

      1. I talked to the store attendant at Volks (in Japanese) when I was last in Japan, and she recommended that you buy M cap for DDs despite the packaging saying the L cap is for DDs.
        Apparently the L sized ones would be so big that they’d cover the ears of the dollfie and looking from the pics on the blog, that seems true.

Leave a comment